Wawas, alpacas, and potatoes…oh my!

  • Dipping my toes into the Pacific Ocean—check
  • Seeing Machu Picchu (1/7 of the New World Wonders)–check
  • Seeing the Andes Mountains–check
  • Visit all 7 continents–3/7 so far!

Like most people, I have a running bucket list of things I want to do with my life.  Fortunately, I was able to check off some items over my winter break.  I traveled to Peru with a group of 12 people for a week.  Three of the twelve (myself included) are current students at my school and three are Alumni (one of which works at my school). That was cool because they would share stories of what they did in college.

SO PERU! Ay Dios..what to say.  The country was nothing of what I expected. The scenery was unlike anything I’d ever seen before.  Mountains surrounding you with terraces every where you look.  Each morning it was foggy until…like 1pm.  Watching the fog lift from those mountains was awesome because I felt as if the fog was all around me.

What I got most out of this trip was the love of connection.  Connecting with my group was incredible.  I knew a few of the people on the trip from my previous trip to Egypt.  Learning about and with everyone though was so cool.  Such great conversation took place.  Other than that, however, I really enjoyed interacting with the Peruvian people.  I was able to put five years of spanish to work (only by talking to children–too nervous to speak to adults haha). I believe the best way to practice another language is to speak to children, because they are essentially learning it as well.  They speak with you with no judgement.  The only downside is it is creepy to speak to little children which you don’t know.  Oh well, when in Peru…

We saw a ton of things.  We took tours in Lima, Cusco, Ollantaytambo, Machu Picchu, and Lake Titicaca.  While on Lake Titicaca we stopped by the Floating Islands and Taquile Island.  That day was my favorite.  We learned of the cultures occupying both places.  These are people that live off of what is around them and are deeply rooted in family.  In fact, the whole country is like that.  The people of Peru take a lot of pride in what they make, in their knowledge of nature, and in their families.  Such beautiful values and ideals.

Some great highlights of the trip include removing a splinter from a strangers foot, a vicuña rolling around on my friends backpack, running around the Incan City of Machu Picchu to get the “postcard shot”, dancing to JT in the car after a few pisco sours and a water show, and finally figuring out how to get to the beach with the help of my new 7 year old friend. I’ll include more in-depth posts about specific locations and experiences so as to not have an 18 page post :]

Check out some photos here! https://plus.google.com/photos/100389329893726065789/albums/5835742426068487713

Until next time,
Miss Enlund ;]

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Questions, comments, limericks?

