Editor’s block versus writer’s block

I am blessed to be the Editor in Chief of my college’s yearbook.  I count this as a blessing because I based my entire college decision on the fact that the institution worked with a publisher that I love.  It is also a blessing because I’ve been the EIC for the last two years.

Today is our first deadline for the yearbook and I have hit this horrendous brick wall; editor’s block.

I am the sole designer of the book and I hold the final say.  I have been dubbed  the “consistency queen” by my staff because I won’t stop until every single detail is exactly where and how I want it.  I’m good at what I do and the best part is, I love it.

Sadly, this chief, is just unable to produce something she’s IN LOVE with.  I try to pull ideas from the younger blood, but they are still designing very high school looking layouts  (no knock at high school books–some of the journalism that comes from high school books is exceptional).  These students are just thinking very…cliché.

I’m so overloaded with homework, additional tasks, and the daunting concept of grad school and/or finding a job that the creative inspiration has seemingly frozen up and I can’t produce anything of value.  I feel like an artist going through a funk.  The only problem is deadline = money + disappointment.  Two things I can’t handle or afford.

This numbness has affected my ability to write for the book as well.  The big piece where I get to shine in the book falls on the second page; the statement of theme.  Normally, this would have should have been written for the last three months.  I can’t seem to grasp the words to effectively communicate how and why we chose the theme.  I swear this is why I can’t create anything to express the theme in the way I want it to.   Either way, deadline will happen.  I might just have to suck up the fact that a lot of editing will be done in proofs.

Until next time,

Miss. Enlund-in-Chief ;]

Tagged , , , ,

Questions, comments, limericks?

